My experiences and thoughts about Reiki

The passing of a companion

A dear friend called this afternoon to impart the news that her beloved pet had passed away an hour before. Naturally, she is grief stricken at the loss of her companion of 16 years. I immediately sent Distance Reiki to her.  Distance Reiki is something that I have sent her and her pet over the past several weeks as the condition of her pet deteriorated.

Distance Reiki uses the Reiki symbol of Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen. I think of it as “beyond space and time”. This allows the Reiki practitioner to send Reiki to the client even if they are not physically present or indeed backwards or forwards in time. The issue of sending energy into the past or future does cause some people confusion and there is a whole quantum physics argument that I can’t do justice to at the moment but it is possible.

There are several ways to conduct a distance healing with Reiki. One method is to treat it like any other session in setting space and environment and then using a stand-in for the client. The proxy for the client can be a doll, a stuffed toy, a photograph of the client, or even a paper with the client’s name. I recommend that the client spend the duration of the session in a relaxed pose and not engaged in other activities. I have found that I get sensations and knowings when working on a proxy just like I do in normal Reiki sessions working on a client’s body. When I check in with the client, they comment on this or that in relation to the sensations or knowings that I received.

At other times it isn’t practical or possible to set up in your usual way for a Reiki session. I use mental focus when this is the situation. I bring the image of the client to my mind and I concentrate on that image and then perform the transmission of Distance Reiki. It is equally effective as the use of a proxy if you can maintain your focus on the client. One of the caveates that I recommend including in your preparation in this case is that the energy be delivered to the client at a time that will be safe and secure for them. I don’t want the client to experience a state of relaxation or release that may interfere with their activies (i.e. driving).

Leave a comment